Board Of Directors

Lee University is led by an independent Board of Directors, who meet five times every two years with the president to conduct university business. This board serves to:

  • Appoint and supervise the president
  • Provide guidance and vision for future development of Lee’s programs and facilities.
  • Approve the appointment of all faculty and administrative personnel.
  • Ratify official actions concerning ongoing operations at Lee University, including an annual budget.

Board members include individuals who are active in business, professional life, and church ministry. Most of the members are Lee alumni; all are appointed for two-year terms. Board meetings usually include a non-voting representative of the sponsoring denomination. Meetings are called and moderated by the board chairperson, who along with other officers is elected by the board biennially. The current chair (2020-22) is Dennis Livingston, of Charlotte, North Carolina; vice chair is Robert Daugherty II, of Atlanta, Georgia.

Members of the Board of Directors may be contacted through the Office of the President at (423) 614-8600.

Look below to meet the current Lee Board of Directors and learn a few details of their backgrounds and hometowns.

Dennis Livingston, Chair (‘74)
Administrative Executive,
Central Church
Charlotte, North Carolina

Robert Daugherty II, Vice Chair (‘85)
Mathematics Educator
The Woodward School
Atlanta, Georgia

Marty Baker (‘83)
Lead Founding Pastor
Stevens Creek Church
Augusta, Georgia

Emmitt Beall (‘00)
Director of Finance
Optum Advisory Services
Nashville, Tennessee

Patricia Carroll (‘58)
Carroll Property Investments, Inc.
Fort Myers, Florida

Ishmael Charles (‘87)
Field Director
Church of God, Caribbean St. Thomas,
US Virgin Islands

Hector Diaz
Financial Advisor,
Longview Wealth Management, Inc.
Atlanta, Georgia

Bobby K. Jones, II
President & CEO,
Deacon Jones Auto Group
Princeton, North Carolina

Wade Lombard (‘02)
Managing Partner,
Square Cow Moovers, Inc.
Austin, Texas

Jerry Madden (‘16)
Senior Pastor
Praise Cathedral
Greer, South Carolina

Byron Medlin (‘89)
Owner and CEO
Don Medlin Company
Dyersburg, Tennessee

Jeffrey Robinson (‘86)
Lead Pastor
Plant City Church of God
Plant City, Florida

Matthew Sharp (‘03)
Senior Counsel
Alliance Defending Freedom
Atlanta, Georgia

Lee Storms
Owner and CEO
Convention Planners, Inc.
Charlotte, North Carolina

Clayton Watson (‘94)
Administrative Bishop
Church of God, Minnesota
Lakeville, Minnesota

H. Bernard Dixon, Emeritus (‘59)
Business Owner
Cleveland, Tennessee

David Ramirez**
Cleveland, Tennessee
**Liaison from the Church of God, International Executive Committee

Ashley Freer (’99)
Principal, Group Director & Strategy
Balcom Agency
Ft. Worth, Texas

Kelvin Tarukwasha (’98)
General Manager, Sodexo
Dining Services at ETSU
Johnson City, Tennessee

Steve Smith
Administrative Bishop
Church of God, New York
Farmingdale, New York

Lee U Marker Icon

Explore The Campus
Through Our Interactive
3D Map