Montgomery, Phillips, and Stroh Receive Bilbo Student Teaching Award 

Early Childhood, Elementary, and Special Education, News, Student Success
Elena Montgomery

Lee University’s Helen DeVos College of Education (HDCOE) recently named Elena Montgomery, Miranda Phillips, and Abby Stroh the recipients of the Dr. Jimmy W. Bilbo Excellence in Student Teaching Award. The award is given in memory of Dr. Jimmy W. Bilbo, who was instrumental in developing and leading Lee’s Teacher Education Program for 35 years. 

“These individuals truly represent the excellence that the HDCOE seeks to instill in all our teacher candidates,” said Dr. Shane Brown, Lee’s director of teacher education and assistant professor of education. “We are excited about the life-changing impact they, along with their peers, will have for the Kingdom and for well-deserving students across the globe.” 

Montgomery, a special education major from Oak Ridge, Tennessee, did her student teaching at Bradley Central High School and Rhea County Middle School. 

Miranda Phillips

Phillips is a TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) major, from Jesup, Georgia. She student taught at Howard Connect Academy and Bess T. Shepherd Elementary. 

Stroh, a physical education major from Franklin, Tennessee, student taught at Chattanooga School for the Liberal Arts and Poplar Grove Middle School. 


Abby Stroh

The Bilbo Excellence in Student Teaching Award was established in the spring semester of 1996 and recognizes excellence in student teaching. Winners are nominated by their cooperating teachers and principals to receive this honor. 

Lee U Marker Icon

Explore The Campus
Through Our Interactive
3D Map