Herzog Named 2024 Presser Award Winner 

Music, News, Student Success
David Herzog, left, is shown here with Dr. Randy Sheeks.

David Herzog, a music business major from Dayton, Ohio, was recently named Lee University’s 2024 Presser Undergraduate Scholar. He was recognized for this honor during the Senior Honors Concert in April. 

The Presser Foundation, established by music publisher Theodore Presser, is dedicated solely to the support of music and music education. With its Undergraduate Scholar Award, the Pennsylvania-based foundation recognizes music students who exemplify high academic and musical accomplishment, leadership, and citizenship at accredited colleges and universities across the country. 

“David is one of those students who is absolutely reliable…he simply gets it all done,” said Dr. Ron Brendel, professor of voice in Lee’s School of Music. “Whatever David does, he always does it with excellence and grace. He is truly a man of God with a great destiny. It has been my honor to call him my student!” 

Herzog is a member of Lee Singers and plays guitar for Dixon Chapel and Westmore Church of God. He also interns at the Danny Murray Recording Studio. 

“All my teachers and mentors have been so supportive and have helped foster a place where I could learn and grow,” said Herzog. “It is such an honor to have received this award after the work I’ve put into my time at Lee.” 

After graduation, Herzog plans to pursue a career in music publishing. 

As the 2024 Presser Scholar, Herzog will receive a cash stipend for his upcoming school year. 

Presser Undergraduate Scholar Awards are distributed to a number of accredited institutions throughout America. Past recipients of Lee University include Levi Deal (2023), Lynnae Eades (2022), Mary Nerren (2021), Lauren Mills (2020), Elizabeth Clark (2019), Danae Bromley (2018), Brittany Martin (2017), Kristiana McCombs (2016), Matthew Kelly (2015), Joey Archer (2014), Erica Tipton (2013), Matthew Wilkinson (2012), Lamprini Lindeman (2011), Christopher Oglesby (2010), Sabbath Ward (2009), Rachael Skidmore (2008), Michael Land (2007), and Brooke Upton (2006). 

For more information on the Presser Foundation, visit


Lee U Marker Icon

Explore The Campus
Through Our Interactive
3D Map