Campbell, Patterson Named Tucker Scholars in Nursing 

News, Student Success
Campbell and Patterson
Alayna Campbell, left, and Destiny Patterson

Lee University’s Alayna Campbell and Destiny Patterson have been named the recipients of the 2023-24 Tucker Foundation Endowed Scholarship in Nursing. 

Campbell, a junior nursing major from Chattanooga, Tennessee, is a new recipient of the award. She is a transfer student currently in her fourth semester at Lee and completed her high school education at Catoosa County Co-op and the Campbell Academy of Excellence. 

“Jesus gave me a passion for children from a very young age, so I plan to become a pediatric or NICU travel nurse,” said Campbell. “This scholarship takes a lot of weight off my shoulders as well as my family’s, and I’m able to move forward through the rest of my time here at Lee in confidence and peace.” 

Campbell is currently involved in Asian Council and offers herself as a volunteer on campus wherever help is needed. She is a member of The National Society of Leadership and Success and was inducted in a public ceremony last semester. During her first semester at Lee, she was also a member of Lee Singers, one of Lee’s vocal ensembles. 

“Alayna’s pursuit of knowledge and dedication to the nursing profession shines brightly,” said Shannon McBrayer, lecturer of nursing and director of simulation and experiential learning. “This achievement is a testament to her exceptional character and commitment to making a positive impact on the future of healthcare.” 

Patterson, a junior nursing student and Cleveland native, first received the renewable award in 2021-22 and is continuing as a Tucker Scholar for a third year. 

“Renewing this scholarship means that I can afford housing at Lee, and without it, being here at Lee would not be possible,” said Patterson. 

She plans to graduate from Lee in 2025 with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing and continue her education by earning her doctorate degree to become a nurse practitioner. 

“We’re so proud of Destiny for her remarkable achievement as the recipient of the Tucker Scholarship,” said Dr. Samantha Spinks, assistant professor of nursing. “Her profound compassion and unwavering dedication to the art of caregiving are truly inspiring.” 

The Tucker Foundation established the nursing scholarship in 2014 to support students from southeast Tennessee enrolled in Lee University’s nursing program. The Tucker Foundation also established a scholarship for natural science and mathematics at the university in 2009. Both scholarships were established on behalf of Mr. and Mrs. Summerfield K. Johnston, Jr. 

Recipients of the Tucker Foundation Endowed Scholarship in Nursing are selected by a nursing scholarship committee comprising the dean of nursing and nursing faculty with input from the financial aid office. The scholarship award is renewable for four years until graduation. 

For more information about the Tucker Foundation Scholarship, contact the School of Nursing at (423) 614-8526. 


PHOTO: Pictured here are the 2023-24 Tucker Scholars in Nursing: Alayna Campbell, left, and Destiny Patterson. 

Lee U Marker Icon

Explore The Campus
Through Our Interactive
3D Map