Bilbo Student Teaching Award Winners Announced

Academics, News

The Lee University Helen DeVos College of Education recently honored the winners of the Dr. Jimmy W. Bilbo Excellence in Student Teaching Award. The 2020 recipients are Sarah Dodson, Camila Hutt, and Mariah Small.

“These teacher candidates truly represent the excellence that the Helen DeVos College of Education seeks to instill in all our teacher candidates,” said Dr. Shane Brown, director of teacher education. “We are excited about the life-changing impact they, along with their peers, will have for the Kingdom and for well-deserving students across the globe.”

Each semester three or four student teachers are chosen to receive the Bilbo Award. Established in the spring semester of 1996, this award recognizes excellence in student teaching. This year, due to pandemic restrictions, the award was presented during a virtual banquet.

Dodson, from Cleveland, Tennessee, majored in special education comprehensive disabilities K-12. She student-taught at Lake Forest Middle School for her first placement and at Prospect Elementary School for her second.

Hutt, also from Cleveland, majored in art education and is certified to teach art K-12. She completed her first placement at Cleveland Middle School and her second placement at Candies Creek Cherokee Elementary School and Mayfield Elementary School.

Small, from Loudon, Tennessee, majored in elementary education and is certified to teach K-5. She student-taught fifth graders at Stuart Elementary and second graders at Charleston Elementary Steam Academy.

The Excellence in Student Teaching award is given in memory of Dr. Jimmy W. Bilbo who was instrumental in developing and leading Lee’s Teacher Education Program for 35 years. Winners are nominated by their cooperating teachers and principals to receive this honor.


Lee U Marker Icon

Explore The Campus
Through Our Interactive
3D Map