Bilbo Award Winners Announced

Helen DeVos College of Education, News
Winners pictured (left to right) are Olivia Swartzel, Kayla Evans, and Sarah Wade.

Lee University’s Helen DeVos College of Education recently named Kayla Evans, Olivia Swartzel, and Sarah Wade the recipients of the Dr. Jimmy W. Bilbo Excellence in Student Teaching Award. The award is given in memory of Dr. Jimmy W. Bilbo who was instrumental in developing and leading Lee’s Teacher Education Program for 35 years.

Evans, a chemistry education major from Warner Robins, Georgia, did her student teaching at Walker Valley High School and East Hamilton Middle School.

Swartzel is a special education major, from Cleveland, Tennessee. She student taught at Ooltewah Middle and Bess T. Shepherd Elementary.

Wade, a pre-K-3 and K-5 education major from Xenia, Ohio, student taught at Oak Grove Elementary and North Lee Elementary.

“These individuals truly represent the excellence that the Helen DeVos College of Education seeks to instill in all our teacher candidates,” said Dr. Shane Brown, Lee’s director of teacher education and assistant professor of education. “We are excited about the life-changing impact they, along with their peers, will have for the Kingdom and for well-deserving students across the globe.”

The Bilbo Excellence in Student Teaching Award was established in the spring semester of 1996 and recognizes excellence in student teaching. Winners are nominated by their cooperating teachers and principals to receive this honor.

Lee U Marker Icon

Explore The Campus
Through Our Interactive
3D Map