Lee News

2018 Rymer Winners Announced

On Wednesday, April 25, Lee University awarded nine incoming freshman the 2018 Rymer Scholarship. Three Gold Scholars, three Silver Scholars, and three Bronze Scholars were presented at the annual Rymer Scholars banquet on Lee’s campus.

The Rymer Foundation, established in 1989 by Hoyle Rymer and his father, Robert Rymer, awards the scholarships annually. The award honors exceptional achievement and encourages local high school students to continue their education in Cleveland. Since the scholarship’s inception in 1989, more than 200 students have earned the title “Rymer Scholar.”

Nine finalists from Bradley Central (BCHS), Cleveland (CHS), and Walker Valley High School (WVHS) were chosen for the 2018 awards. The Lee University President’s Office, along with the principals from all three high schools, appointed the selection committee.

The selection committee reviewed the applications and conducted interviews with each finalist. Scholars were assessed based on their leadership in extracurricular, athletic, and church-based activities; high school rank; grade point average; college entrance exam scores; and the interview.

This year’s Rymer Gold scholars are Emily Harris (BCHS), Haley Jones (WVHS), and Tyler Massey (CHS). They each will receive a scholarship of $10,000.

Harris is the daughter of Angela and Ray Harris. Haley Jones is the daughter of Emily and Jeremy Jones. Massey is the son of Kelly and Michael Massey.

The 2018 Rymer Silver scholars are Brandon Akiona (WVHS), Cassidy Jones (CHS), and Jasmine Ngo (WVHS). They will each receive a scholarship of $5,000.

Akiona is the son of Nathaniel and Sandra Akiona. Cassidy Jones is the daughter of Robert and Shannon Jones. Ngo is the daughter of Minh and Que-Anh Ngo.

The Rymer Bronze scholars are Jonathan Brewer (CHS), Ethan Miles (CHS), and Ashley Sims (BCHS). They each will receive a scholarship of $2,000.

Brewer is the son of Pamela and Wayne Brewer. Miles is the son of Jo and Mark Miles. Sims is the daughter of Harrison and Melody Sims.

All monetary awards will be dispersed to the winners over a period of four years.

For more information about the Rymer Scholarship, contact Lee’s Office of Admissions at admissions@leeuniversity.edu or (423) 614-8500.

2018 Rymer Winners Announced
2018 Rymer Winners

« Previous Story McCombs Named 2018 Winner, F. J. Lee Award Next Story » SOM Voice Students Place at NATS