Kleinmann and Moe Awarded Page Legacy Scholar Grant

Friday, April 05, 2013

Alumni Hero
Lee University’s Dr. Christie Kleinmann and Dr. Megan Moe were recently awarded a Page Legacy Scholar Grant from the Arthur W. Page Center of the Pennsylvania State University College of Communications.

The $2,500 grant will go towards a project titled “Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), Leadership and Corporate Management,” involving research of positive communication in strengths-based leadership. It focuses on management and teamwork by recognizing the value of each team member’s unique characteristics.

“Effective CSR becomes a natural outgrowth of the individual and corporate concerns, rather than a burdensome obligation,” said Moe, associate professor of communication. “When CSR is approached from this point, transparency and authenticity are inherently present.”

The grant will allow the professors to hold a one-week unit of three hours of class material to be called “Exploring the Role of Corporate Social Responsibility in Leadership,” in order to discuss the importance of understanding CSR and its implementation in leadership based on Arthur W. Page’s principles.

Kleinmann was awarded the Page Legacy Scholar Grant in 2012 for her project “Exploring the Role of Corporate Responsibility in Sports Public Relations” and in 2006 for “Defining Public Relations' Role in Social Responsibility: Practitioners' Perception of Public Relations Ethics in Health Care, Education and Sport.”

Kleinmann joined Lee’s faculty in 2006 and is an associate professor of communication. She is also the advisor of Lee’s Student Public Relations Society of America and coach of Lee’s Bateman Team.

Moe joined the faculty in 2005 and is the advisor for the Lee Advertising Federation. She also coached Lee’s first National Student Advertising competition team.

The Page Center is a research center dedicated to the study and advancement of ethics and responsibility in corporate and public forms of communication, awarding grants to support scholars and professionals making important contributions to knowledge, practice, or public understanding of ethics and responsibility in public communication.