Lee News

Three Student Teachers Win Bilbo Award

The winners are pictured here (left to right) Sarah Vicars, Michelle Mason, and Madeline Schultz.

The Lee University Helen DeVos College of Education recently honored the winners of the Dr. Jimmy W. Bilbo Excellence in Student Teaching Award. The fall 2019 recipients are Michelle Mason, Madeline Schultz, and Sarah Vicars.

Each semester three or four student teachers are chosen to receive the Bilbo Award. Established in the spring semester of 1996, this award recognizes excellence in student teaching and is presented each semester at a student teacher banquet.

Mason and Vicars both did their student teaching at East Brainerd and North Lee elementary schools, while Shultz’s student teaching included senior English at Walker Valley High and English/language arts at Ocoee Middle.

The Excellence in Student Teaching award is given in honor of Dr. Jimmy W. Bilbo who was instrumental in developing and leading Lee’s Teacher Education Program for 35 years. Winners are nominated by their cooperating teachers and principals to receive this honor.
« Previous Story Voices Broadway Christmas Performance to Air Dec. 22-25 Next Story » Women’s Rugby Makes it to NSCRO Final Four