Lee News

Winners of the 2018 Excellence Awards Announced

Excellence Award Winners Announced
Dr. Conn congratulates (from left) Dr. Brian Peterson, Dr. Jason Robinson, and Matthew Fisher during May Commencement.

Winners of the 2018 faculty Excellence Awards were recently announced. Matthew Fisher received the Excellence in Teaching Award, Dr. Brian Peterson received the Excellence in Scholarship Award, and Dr. Jason Robinson was named the recipient of the Excellence in Advising Award. Lee President Dr. Paul Conn officially recognized the award recipients during the university’s May commencement.


Fisher Receives Excellence in Teaching Award

Matthew Fisher, associate professor of digital media studies, has been selected as the winner of Lee University’s 2018 Excellence in Teaching Award. Lee

The Excellence Awards are the highest honors presented to Lee faculty members and recognize advising, scholarship, and teaching. The oldest award and considered to be superior among the three is Excellence in Teaching. The winner of this award is chosen by a special committee which includes representatives of six different academic departments.

Fisher, an alumnus of Lee, joined the Communication Arts faculty in 2011. He teaches classes on screenwriting, directing, film theory, and film criticism.

Matthew Fisher
Matthew Fisher

Short films written and directed by Fisher have screened at festivals such as Cannes Court Metrage, the Nashville Film Festival, and the Short Shorts Film Festival in Tokyo.

Conn shared several students’ sentiments from Fisher’s evaluations, including “I take any Fisher class that I can” and “He is my favorite Lee professor, and I am confident I’ll remember the content of his class forever.”

Fisher received his Master of Fine Arts from Savannah College of Art and Design and his Bachelor of Arts from Lee.


Peterson Receives Excellence in Scholarship Award

Dr. Brian Peterson, associate professor of Old Testament, has been named the recipient of the university’s 2018 Excellence in Scholarship Award.

The winner of this award is chosen each year by the Faculty Scholarship and Research Committee.

Peterson Receives Award
Dr. Brian Peterson

Peterson joined the Lee University School of Religion faculty in 2011. Prior to this, he taught adjunct courses in a number of venues in Toronto; taught courses at the Gambia Theological Institute in Gambia, West Africa; and spent a year as an assistant professor of Old Testament at Prairie Bible College in Alberta, Canada.

In following his passion of combining biblical narrative with historical and archaeological records, each summer since 2011, Peterson has taken part in archaeological digs in Israel.

“His large amount of publications on his archaeological findings made him the perfect candidate for the Excellence in Scholarship Award,” said Conn.

Peterson received his Doctor of Philosophy from Wycliffe College at the University of Toronto, his Master of Arts from Beeson Divinity School, a Master of Theological Studies from Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary, and his bachelor’s degree from Zion Bible College.
The Excellence in Scholarship Award is one of three faculty excellence awards recognizing teaching, scholarship, and advising. They are considered the highest honors bestowed on Lee faculty each year.


Robinson Receives Excellence in Advising Award

Assistant Professor of Education Dr. Jason Robinson has been named the winner of Lee University’s 2018 Excellence in Advising Award.

Robinson, a Lee alumnus, joined the Helen DeVos College of Education in 2013. According to Conn, when Robinson applied for his position at Lee, he pledged to make an effort to connect personally to every student in every class he teaches.

“This is a feat Robinson committed himself to and succeeded in, both as a professor and an advisor, making him the perfect candidate for the Excellence in Advising Award,” said Conn. “He has a special affinity for that subphylum of the human species called ‘the college student,’ and it shows.”

Robinson Receives Excellence in Advising Scholarship
Dr. Jason Robinson

Robinson began his teaching career in 1997 after graduating from Lee University with a Bachelor of Science in human development with teacher certification. He went on to earn his Master of Educational Administration and Supervision from Lincoln Memorial University and a Doctor of Education from The University of Tennessee network in learning and leadership with a concentration in curriculum and instruction.

He has received several awards throughout his career, such as the Bradley County Teacher of the Year (2001 and 2011) and Tennessee Science Teacher of the Year.

Robinson is well known in the community for conducting family science nights and professional development activities for teachers. He, along with his wife Faith, directs science camps throughout the year, both in the United States and abroad.

The Excellence Awards are the highest honors presented to Lee faculty members. The recipient of the Excellence in Advising Award is chosen by a faculty committee, which reviews a three-year history of student advisor evaluation data as well as other information provided by the nominating department chairs and deans.

« Previous Story Fisher Receives Lee University Excellence in Teaching Award Next Story » HDCOE Receives CAEP Accreditation