Lee News

2017 Rymer Winners Announced

Rymer Winners Announced
The 2017 Rymer Scholars are pictured here (left to right) Samantha Kate Eason, John Hixon, Morgan Mantooth, Alexandra Squires, Vivian Baker, Blaire Terrell, Sarah Beavers, Sydney Morgan, and Andrea Wilhelm.

On Thursday, April 27, Lee University awarded nine incoming freshmen the 2017 Rymer Scholarship. Three Gold Scholars, three Silver Scholars, and three Bronze Scholars were presented the awards at the annual Rymer Scholars banquet on Lee’s campus.

The Rymer Foundation, established in 1989 by Hoyle Rymer and his father, Robert Rymer, awards the scholarships annually. The award honors exceptional achievement and encourages local high school students to continue their education in Cleveland. Since the scholarship’s inception in 1989, more than 200 students have earned the title “Rymer Scholar.”

Nine finalists from Bradley Central (BCHS), Cleveland (CHS), and Walker Valley High School (WVHS) were chosen for the 2017 awards. The Lee University President’s Office, along with the principals from all three high schools, appointed the selection committee.

The selection committee reviewed the applications and conducted interviews with each finalist. Scholars were assessed based on their leadership in extracurricular, athletic, and church-based activities; high school rank; grade point average; college entrance exam scores; and the interview.

This year’s Rymer Gold scholars are Sarah Beavers (WVHS), Sydney Morgan (BCHS), and Andrea Wilhelm (CHS). They each will receive a scholarship of $10,000.

Beavers, the daughter of Michael and Dorothy Beavers, plans to pursue elementary education. Morgan, a nursing major, is the daughter of Greg and Sha’Ree Morgan. Wilhelm, who is also a nursing major, is the daughter of Ricardo and Lissette Wilhelm.

The Rymer Silver scholars are Vivian Baker (WVHS), Alexandra Squires (WVHS), and Blaire Terrell (BCHS). They will each receive a scholarship of $5,000.

Baker, a biochemistry major, is the daughter of Dennis and Charissa Baker. Squires, daughter of John and Kristen Squires, plans to pursue a secondary education or math major. Terrell is a biology major and the daughter of Blaine and Darleah Terrell.

The Rymer Bronze scholars are Samantha Eason (CHS), John Hixon (WVHS), and Morgan Mantooth (WVHS). They will each receive a scholarship of $2,000.

Eason, an elementary education major, is the daughter of Cliff and Lisa Eason. Hixon, the son of Steve and Annette Hixon, is a nursing major. Mantooth, daughter of Michael and Marsha Mantooth, also plans to major in nursing.

All monetary awards will be dispersed to the winners over a period of four years.

For more information about the Rymer Scholarship, contact Lee’s Office of Admissions at admissions@leeuniversity.edu or (423) 614-8500.
« Previous Story Martin Named Presser Scholar Next Story » White to Speak at Saturday's Commencement