Lee News

St. Louis Brass to Perform for Presidential Concert Series

Lee University welcomes the St. Louis Brass Quintet for the next performance in the Presidential Concert Series on Thursday, Jan. 28 at 7:30 p.m. in Pangle Hall.

“A wonderful ensemble, both in the technical sense and as an atmosphere that emanates from the stage,”(St. Louis Post-Dispatch) the Saint Louis Brass Quintet consists of Thomas Bacon, horn; Allan Dean, trumpet; Melvyn Jernigan, trombone; Daniel Perantoni, tuba; and Ray Sasaki, second trumpet.
St. Louis Brass
St. Louis Brass

Founded in 1964, the group is one of America's longest standing brass quintets. The group was originally formed by members of the St. Louis Symphony to play children's concerts around the St. Louis area and later expanded to present full-length concerts.

Winners of the Best Small Classical Ensemble Award in 1994, the group currently performs three concert tours throughout the United States each year, in addition to recording and international touring. They have toured or performed in Norway, India, Japan, Mexico, Germany, and Sweden, performing over 2,700 engagements to date.

Bacon is a soloist and recording artist in addition to playing the horn. He has held principal horn positions with the Syracuse Symphony, Detroit Symphony, Houston Symphony and the Berlin Radio Symphony, and has performed in "guest" principal positions with the Berlin Philharmonic, Pittsburgh Symphony, Milwaukee Symphony, Fort Worth Symphony, and other orchestras. He has performed in Europe, Africa, Asia, North and South America, and has been a featured soloist on international tours with the Amati Ensemble, the Berlin Radio Orchestra, and Mikhail Baryshnikov's White Oak Dance Project.

Dean, a professor of music at Yale School of Music, has performed with the New York Brass Quintet, the New York Cornet, and the Sacbut Ensemble. As a top call freelance concert and recording artist, he has worked with some of the greatest musicians and composers of the 20th century including Leonard Bernstein and Igor Stravinsky. Dean is a founding member of Summit Brass, and is also a renowned cornetto player in the group "Calliope: A Renaissance Band."

Jernigan is the executive director at Primo Concert. He was previously bass trombonist with the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra after graduating from the Curtis Institute of Music. He is the founding member of the Saint Louis Brass Quintet and is also a founding member of Summit Brass. He is a recording and television producer as well as an arts manager. Jernigan has served on various committees and/or boards of the Missouri Arts Council, the Mid-America Arts Alliance, Young Audiences St. Louis, Summit Brass and Summit Recordings.

Perantoni, a professor of music at Indiana University, is a renowned tuba soloist, clinician, chamber musician, instrument designer and master teacher. He has been a featured artist at Carnegie Hall, the Monterey Jazz Festival, the Spoleto Festival U.S.A., the Adelaide Festival in Australia, the Banff Centre for the Arts in Canada, and as soloist throughout Japan. Perantoni is a founding member of Summit Brass, a member of Symphonia, the Matteson-Phillips Tubajazz Consort, and has released numerous solo and chamber music CDs.

Sasaki is a professor of music at the University of Texas at Austin. He has commissioned many new works for trumpet, most notably with the Cleveland Chamber Orchestra, the International Trumpet Guild, and the Jazz Members Orchestra of Chicago. He has recorded on CRI, Deutsche Grammophon, Ubres, Crystal, Summit, Einstein and TR2001 recordings. Sasaki has served on the Board of Directors of the International Trumpet Guild.

Tickets to the Saint Louis Brass Quintet performance are $15 for adults and $5 for seniors/children and are available at the Dixon Center Box Office Monday-Friday or by contacting (423) 614-8343, between 3 and 6 p.m.

For more information about the Presidential Concert Series, call the School of Music at (423) 614-8240.
« Previous Story Lee Receives NCAA D2 Award Of Excellence Next Story » Williams Elected to ATHE Leadership